Thursday, December 7, 2017

AUDIO: Joe Perry streams new single with Cheap Trick singer Robin Zander

Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry is streaming “Aye, Aye, Aye” – featuring Cheap Trick vocalist Robin Zander – as the lead track to his forthcoming solo album, “Sweetzerland Manifesto.”

"Being friends and fans of each other for 40 years, Robin and I had always talked about writing together," Perry tells Rolling Stone. "I was in L.A. working on my newest solo record and Robin was in town with Cheap Trick and called me with an idea for a song. He sang the chorus over the phone which was all he had at the time. I dug it and said, 'Hell yeah, come on up.'

“This song turned out to be one of two tracks on the album I hadn't written the music for before. Robin came up to Sweetzerland and six hours later 'Aye, Aye, Aye' was born. The song moved along as fast as a ride on a Japanese bullet train. In fact, we were able to track it live that night."

Due January 19, “Sweetzerland Manifesto” sees Perry collaborating with guest vocalists Zander, David Johansen and Terry Reid, and others including Johnny Depp, Zak Starkey and his own sons Tony and Roman Perry.

A cover of the 1960s protest song, “Eve Of Destruction”, and a pair of instrumentals round out the set, including “Spanish Sushi”, which was produced and arranged by The Perry Boys with Joe on guitars and bass, Roman adding synthesizer programming and Tony handling drum programming.

Peery’s first full studio record since 2009’s “Have Guitar, Will Travel” was recorded at Studio 1480 in Los Angeles and produced by the guitarist and Bruce Witkin, with Depp serving as executive producer and additional help from longtime Aerosmith associate Jack Douglas, who co-wrote and co-produced a number of tracks.

Joe Perry
“Sweetzerland Manifesto”

Release date: January 19

01. Rumble In The Jungle (instrumental)
02. I'll Do Happiness (ft. Terry Reid)
03. Aye, Aye, Aye (ft. Robin Zander)
04. I Wanna Roll (ft. David Johansen)
05. Sick & Tired (ft. Terry Reid)
06. Haberdasher Blues (ft. David Johansen)
07. Spanish Sushi (instrumental)
08. Eve Of Destruction (ft. Joe Perry)
09. I'm Going Crazy (ft. David Johansen)
10. Won't Let Me Go (ft. Terry Reid)

See also:

Aerosmith: Joe Perry to release first solo album in almost a decade
Steven Tyler updates health status following Aerosmith tour cancellation
REPORT: Steven Tyler suffered seizure in Brazil after Aerosmith concert
Aerosmith cancel shows following Steven Tyler medical emergency
Search Aerosmith at hennemusic