Thursday, May 31, 2018

Ann Wilson of Heart details new covers album Immortal

Heart vocalist Ann Wilson is sharing details about her forthcoming new solo album, “Immortal.”

Due September 14, the covers project sees the rocker deliver a diverse set of tracks that pay homage to some of her favorite songs and artists, all of whom have passed away in recent years – including tracks by David Bowie, Tom Petty, Chris Cornell, The Eagles and more.

"The original working titles evolved as the concept for the album evolved, a little bit at a time," explains Wilson. "As my understanding of what I had undertaken grew and clarified, I realized a larger truth; that the souls may have departed but the songs will forever be their resonances. These are the poets of our time and their expressions must be handed down. Poetry is lasting and elemental like carvings in rock."

Ann says the criteria for choosing this collection of songs was easy.

“First of all, I had to LOVE them!,” she adds. “They had to be songs I could get inside of authentically as a singer. Lyrics are important to me but the most important thing is always the marriage of words and melody that makes the song magic!"

Recorded with original Heart producer Mike Flicker, “Immortal” features guest appearances by Warren Haynes and Ben Mink.

Wilson will launch the project this fall with her first-ever solo television special, which was taped this past April at the Arcada Theatre in St. Charles, IL.

The singer will begin a series of summer solo shows in early July before joining Jeff Beck and Paul Rodgers for the Stars Align Tour of North America, which will open in West Valley City, UT on July 18.

Heart’s future as a band remains unknown following an August 2016 incident at White River Amphitheater in their Seattle hometown that saw Ann’s husband, Dean Wetter, allegedly assault Nancy’s children backstage during their concert.

In March of 2017, Wetter plead guilty to two counts of fourth-degree assault and was handed a suspended sentence of 364 days in jail, meaning he would not serve any time; his plea agreement includes restitution, two years of probation, counseling and no contact with his nephews.

Nancy Wilson has been recording and touring with her new project, Roadcase Royale, which includes former Prince bandmember and R&B singer Liv Warfield, Prince protégé lead guitarist Ryan Waters, and Heart members Chris Joyner on keys, Dan Rothchild on bass and drummer Ben Smith; the group released their debut album, “First Things First”, last fall.
Ann Wilson

Release date: September 14

01. A Different Corner (George Michael)
02. A Thousand Kisses Deep (Leonard Cohen)
03. Back To Black (Amy Winehouse)
04. Baker Street (Gerry Rafferty)
05. I Am The Highway (Chris Cornell/Audioslave)
06. I'm Afraid Of Americans (David Bowie)
07. Life In The Fast Lane (The Eagles) (in honor of Glenn Frey)
08. Luna (Tom Petty)
09. Politician (Cream) (in honor of Jack Bruce)
10. You Don't Own Me (Lesley Gore)

See also:

VIDEO: Ann Wilson and Jerry Cantrell deliver Chris Cornell tribute at Rock Hall ceremony

Heart offshoot Roadcase Royale announce debut album

Heart’s future unknown as singer’s husband sentenced in family assault case
Heart singer Ann Wilson extends solo tour
Search Heart at hennemusic