Friday, June 8, 2018

Ray Davies streams Kinks cover from Americana album sequel

Ray Davies is streaming a cover of The Kinks’ 1971 track, “Oklahoma U.S.A.”, as the latest preview to his forthcoming album, “Our Country: Americana Act II.”

The tune originally appeared on the UK band’s “Muswell Hillbillies” record, named after the area of North London Ray and guitarist Dave Davies grew up and formed The Kinks in 1964.

Due June 29, the project marks the companion to the singer’s first original solo work in a decade, 2017’s “Americana”, and his 2013 memoir of the same name.

"Our Country follows my journey across America,” says Davies, “through endless tours not just to reclaim the Kinks’ career, but to rediscover the country that offered me my earliest inspirations."

Produced by Davies, Guy Massey and John Jackson, “Our Country” was recorded at London’s Konk Studios with guitarist Bill Shanley and The Jayhawks once again serving as Davies’ backing band in addition to a group of UK musicians.

“Our Country: Americana Act II” will be available on CD, 2LP vinyl and digital formats.

Ray Davies
“Our Country: Americana Act II”

Release date: June 29

01. Our Country
02. The Invaders (spoken word)
03. Back In The Day
04. Oklahoma U.S.A.
05. Bringing Up Baby
06. The Getaway
07. The Take
08. We Will Get There
09. The Real World
10. A Street Called Hope
11. The Empty Room
12. Calling Home
13. Louisiana Sky
14. March Of The Zombies
15. The Big Weird
16. Tony And Bob
17. The Big Guy
18. Epilogue
19. Muswell Kills

See also:

Ray Davies streams title track from Americana album sequel
AUDIO: Ray Davies previews new album with lead single Poetry
Ray Davies of The Kinks receives UK knighthood
The Kinks – Low Budget 35th anniversary featured on In The Studio
Search The Kinks at hennemusic