Friday, July 6, 2018

The Magpie Salute stream new single For The Wind

The Black Crowes offshoot The Magpie Salute are streaming “For The Wind” as the latest single to the August 10 release of their debut studio album, “High Water I.”

"'For The Wind' is a song that took a long way around to come to fruition,” explains guitarist Rich Robinson. “I wrote it years ago and it took the right band to do it justice. Now it has a great home with Magpie."

"It's like this person can see that every terrible thing in his world has been reversed, defeated and left behind,” adds vocalist John Hogg. “It's not hopeful or expectant, it's more than that... a full-on realization described by one of the victors."

“For The Wind” follows the lead track, "Send Me An Omen”, as the latest preview to “High Water I”, which was produced by Robinson and recorded at Dark Horse Studios in Nashville, TN.

Formed in 2016, The Magpie Salute features Robinson alongside former Crowes bandmates Marc Ford and Sven Pipien, and vocalist John Hogg, keyboardist Matt Slocum and drummer Joe Magistro.

The Magpie Salute are currently on the road with dates booked into early fall that will see the band mix headline appearances with an opening slot on the Gov’t Mule US tour.

The Magpie Salute
“High Water I”

Release date: August 10

01. "Mary The Gypsy"
02. "High Water"
03. "Send Me An Omen"
04. "For The Wind"
05. "Sister Moon"
06. "Color Blind"
07. "Take It All"
08. "Walk On Water"
09. "Hand In Hand"
10. "You Found Me"
11. "Can You See"
12. "Open Up"

See also:

Black Crowes guitarist comments on chances of a reunion
The Black Crowes offshoot The Magpie Salute preview debut album
Former Black Crowes keyboardist Eddie Harsch dead at 59
Black Crowes: Rich Robinson streams Which Way Your Wind Blows
Search The Black Crowes at hennemusic