Tuesday, July 24, 2018

Vintage Bob Seger recordings highlight Heavy Music compilation

A collection of vintage Bob Seger material is featured on “Heavy Music: The Complete Cameo Recordings 1966-1967”, a new compilation set for release on September 7.

The package presents the series of singles Seger issued with his band, The Last Heard, one of several local Detroit groups the rocker worked with prior to his 1969 breakthrough with the Bob Seger System and the hit, “Ramblin’ Gamblin’ Man.”

The band delivered its first single, “East Side Story”, as a Top 5 local hit before releasing four more singles for the Cameo label over the course of the next year, culminating with “Heavy Music” in July of 1967.

Landing another local hit, Seger & The Last Heard appeared on the Detroit TV show “Swingin’ Time”, as “Heavy Music” climbed and peaked at No. 103 on the Billboard charts.

“Heavy Music: The Complete Cameo Recordings 1966-1967” marks the first time that all of the group’s recorded output will be made available since their original mid-60s releases as 45rpm singles.

The collection will be available as a single CD, a single 180-gram vinyl LP, and on all digital platforms.

“Heavy Music” is being previewed with the track, “Persecution Smith.”

Seger recently announced the first series of rescheduled shows from his Runaway Train tour that were postponed last fall when he underwent surgery “to attend to an urgent medical issue concerning his vertebrae”; the rocker will resume the US trek in Kansas City, MO on November 24.

Bob Seger & The Last Heard
“Heavy Music: The Complete Cameo Recordings 1966-1967”

Release date: September 7

01. Heavy Music (Part 1)
02. East Side Story (Vocal)
03. Chain Smokin’
04. Persecution Smith
05. Vagrant Winter
06. Very Few
07. Florida Time
08. Sock It To Me Santa
09. Heavy Music (Part 2)
10. East Side Sound (Instrumental)

See also:

Bob Seger announces rescheduled US concert dates
Bob Seger streams I Knew You When lyric video
Bob Seger offers free download of unreleased song Finding Out
Bob Seger previews songs from new album I Knew You When
Search Bob Seger at hennemusic