Wednesday, September 5, 2018

VIDEO: Fleetwood Mac debut new lineup on The Ellen DeGeneres Show

Fleetwood Mac debuted their new live lineup on the September 5 episode of The Ellen DeGeneres Show.

The band, with new additions Mike Campbell of Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers and Neil Finn of Crowded House on guitars – in place of the recently-fired Lindsey Buckingham – delivered performances of their 1977 “Rumours” classic, “The Chain”, and the 1982 smash, “Gypsy.”

The lineup have been in rehearsals for an extensive North American tour that will begin in Tulsa, OK on October 3, with shows already scheduled into the spring of 2019.

“We are a week into rehearsals and it’s going really well and we’re looking forward, in true Fleetwood Mac style,” said drummer Mick Fleetwood last month. “We’re very excited. Obviously this is a huge change with the advent of Lindsey Buckingham not being a part of Fleetwood Mac. We all wish him well and all the rest of it. In truthful language, we just weren’t happy. And I’ll leave it at that in terms of the dynamic. And he’s going out on the road more or less the same time I think -- not in the same places, I hope (laughs).

“If you know anything about the history of this band, it’s sort of peppered with this type of dramatic stuff,”
Fleetwood continues. “It’s a strange band really. It’s ironic that we have a 50-year package coming out with all the old blues stuff with Peter Green, all the incarnations of Fleetwood Mac, which was not of course planned. But that’s what we’re feeling, especially myself and John, having been in Fleetwood Mac for 55 years.

“So it’s exciting, totally challenging in the whole creative part of it, and we’re really loving it. We’re just looking at a whole 18 months on-and-off of trekking around the world like we normally do and having it be fun.”

See also:

Lindsey Buckingham announces first tour since Fleetwood Mac split
Mick Fleetwood previews Fleetwood Mac tour without Lindsey Buckingham
Fleetwood Mac hits package reaches US sales milestone
Lindsey Buckingham offers first comments on Fleetwood Mac split
Search Stevie Nicks at hennemusic
Search Fleetwood Mac at hennemusic