Thursday, November 8, 2018

Fleetwood Mac stream 1969 classic from 50th anniversary collection

Fleetwood Mac are streaming audio of their 1969 classic, “Oh Well Pt. 1”, as a preview to the November 16 release of the band’s first-ever career-spanning collection “50 Years – Don’t Stop.”

The new compilation touches on every era in the group's history while highlighting the work of the many musicians who have recorded under the Fleetwood Mac banner over the years since Peter Green, Mick Fleetwood and Jeremy Spencer first formed the outfit in 1967 in London, UK.

Marking a half century years since the release of the band’s 1968 self-titled debut album, “50 Years – Don’t Stop” will present 50 tracks across 3-CD and 5-LP packages (see song list below).

The opening disc revisits Fleetwood Mac's early years as a blues-rock combo, a six-year period that began in 1968 and ended in 1974 with its ninth studio album, “Heroes Are Hard To Find.” Many of the songs featured here were Top 10 hits in the UK, including "Man Of The World," "Oh Well - Pt. 1," "The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)," and the No. 1 hit, "Albatross."

The second disc focuses on the group's most commercially successful period with music from a trio of multi-platinum releases – “Fleetwood Mac” (1975), “Rumours” (1977), and “Tusk” (1979) - plus the acclaimed concert album “Live” (1980). Together they've sold millions of copies worldwide, with "Rumours" alone selling more than 40 million copies. Several of the band's most beloved tracks come from these albums including "Rhiannon," "Say You Love Me," "Go Your Own Way," "Don't Stop," "You Make Loving Fun," and the No. 1 single, "Dreams."

The final disc explores songs the band released between 1982 and 2013, including major US hits like "Hold Me" (No. 4), "Gypsy" (No. 12), "Big Love" (No. 5), "Little Lies" (No. 4), and "Everywhere" (No. 14). Also featured are several rarities ("Paper Doll" and "As Long As You Follow"); a live version of "Silver Springs" from the multi-platinum 1997 concert album, “The Dance”; and "Sad Angel" from the band's most recent release, 2013’s “Extended Play.”

A 20-track single CD version of “50 Years – Don’t Stop” will also be issued on the same day, with both versions to be available on digital download and streaming services.

Fleetwood Mac are currently playing dates on a recently-expanded North American tour that began in Tulsa, OK on October 3 featuring a newly-revamped lineup that includes Mike Campbell of Tom Petty’s band and Neil Finn of Crowded House/Split Enz fame in place of longtime guitarist Lindsey Buckingham following his firing earlier this year.

Fleetwood Mac
“50 Years – Don’t Stop”

Release date: November 16

3-CD Track Listing

Disc One

01. "Shake Your Moneymaker"
02. "Black Magic Woman"
03. "Need Your Love So Bad"
04. "Albatross"
05. "Man Of The World"
06. "Oh Well - Pt. I"
07. "Rattlesnake Shake"
08. "The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)"
09. "Tell Me All The Things You Do"
10. "Station Man - Single Version
11. "Sands Of Time" - Single Version
12. "Spare Me A Little Of Your Love"
13. "Sentimental Lady" - Single Version
14. "Did You Ever Love Me"
15. "Emerald Eyes"
16. "Hypnotized"
17. "Heroes Are Hard To Find" - Single Version

Disc Two

01. "Monday Morning"
02. "Over My Head" - Single Version
03. "Rhiannon (Will You Ever Win)" - Single Version
04. "Say You Love Me" - Single Version
05. "Landslide"
06. "Go Your Own Way"
07. "Dreams"
08. "Second Hand News"
09. "Don't Stop"
10. "The Chain"
11. "You Make Loving Fun"
12. "Tusk"
13. "Sara" - Single Version
14. "Think About Me" - Single Version
15. "Fireflies" - Single Version
16. "Never Going Back Again" - Live

Disc Three

01. "Hold Me"
02. "Gypsy"
03. "Love In Store"
04. "Oh Diane"
05. "Big Love"
06. "Seven Wonders"
07. "Little Lies"
08. "Everywhere"
09. "As Long As You Follow"
10. "Save Me" - Single Version
11. "Love Shines"
12. "Paper Doll"
13. "I Do" - Edit
14. "Silver Springs" - Live-Edit
15. "Peacekeeper"
16. "Say You Will"
17. "Sad Angel"

See also:

Fleetwood Mac expand North American tour
Fleetwood Mac announce UK and European shows
Fleetwood Mac respond to Lindsey Buckingham lawsuit over firing
Lindsey Buckingham sues Fleetwood Mac over firing
Search Stevie Nicks at hennemusic