Thursday, January 31, 2019

Foreigner to reissue classic 1978 concert film

Foreigner will reissue their classic concert film, “Live At The Rainbow '78”, on DVD, Blu-ray and digital video on March 15.

After the band’s self-titled debut album spent a year in the US Top 20, Foreigner arrived in London to perform a sold-out show at the city’s legendary Rainbow Theatre.

The crowd were treated to live versions of material from the 1977 debut, as well as an exclusive preview of two tracks from the then-upcoming “Double Vision” album - “Hot Blooded” and the title song.

The event captures live footage of the original and classic Foreigner lineup of vocalist Lou Gramm, guitarist Mick Jones, multi-instrumentalist Ian McDonald (guitars, keyboards, sax, flute, backing vocals), keyboardist Al Greenwood, bassist Ed Gagliardi and drummer Dennis Elliott.

Now, forty years later, the Rainbow set been restored from the original film reels, remixed and remastered for the 2019 reissue.

“1978 was an absolutely magical time for the band,” remembers Jones, “and to come back over to the UK to play a headline show at the legendary Rainbow really was a dream come true. The audience was amazing that night. We couldn't have wished for a better show.”

Gramm and the surviving members of the original lineup reunited with Foreigner during the group’s 40th anniversary tour in 2017 and through several shows in 2018.

Foreigner will launch an extensive Canadian tour in Vancouver, BC on February 22.

“Live At The Rainbow '78”

Release date: March 15

01. Long, Long Way From Home
02. I Need You
03. Woman Oh Woman
04. Hot Blooded
05. The Damage Is Done
06. Cold As Ice
07. Starrider
08. Double Vision
09. Feels Like The First Time
10. Fool For You Anyway
11. At War With The World
12. Headknocker

See also:

Foreigner stream new version of 1984 classic to benefit Shriners Hospitals For Children
Original Foreigner singer Lou Gramm retires from solo performances
Foreigner announce more reunion shows following Sturgis concert
Foreigner announce reunion concert with original members
Search Foreigner at hennemusic