Wednesday, January 2, 2019

Megadeth expand album reissue series

Megadeth will expand their ongoing reissue series next month with a pair of albums from the early 2000s.

The band’s ninth record, 2001's "The World Needs A Hero", and its follow-up, 2004's "The System Has Failed", will each include bonus material when they are released on February 15.

"The World Needs A Hero" was notable for being the band’s last album with original bassist David Ellefson until his 2010 return to the lineup, while also marking the last of two records to feature drummer Jimmy DeGrasso and the only one to feature Al Pitrelli on lead guitar.

The set – which peaked at No. 16 on the US Billboard 200 while failing to achieve gold status in the country – has been newly-remastered by Ted Jensen (Guns N” Roses, Mastodon) and includes the rare live bonus track, "Coming Home", on the CD and digital versions.

2004’s "The System Has Failed" saw Dave Mustaine record the project with a series of session players – including former Megadeth guitarist Chris Poland on lead guitar – while debuting and peaking at No. 18 on the Billboard 200.

Also newly-remastered by Ted Jensen, the reissue includes the rare live bonus tracks, "Time/Use The Man" and "Conjuring", on the CD and digital versions.

The pair of reissues mark the North American vinyl debut of both records and their first appearance on CD after being out of print for the past five years; track lists for both sets can be found below.

Mustaine and Megadeth are currently in the studio working on the follow-up to 2016’s “Dystopia”, whose title track won the band their first-ever Grammy Award in the Best Metal Performance category at the 2017 event.

“The World Needs A Hero” 2019 reissue

Release date: February 15

01. Disconnect
02. The World Needs A Hero
03. Moto Psycho
04. 1000 Times Goodbye
05. Burning Bridges
06. Promises
07. Recipe For Hate…Warhorse
08. Losing My Senses
09. Dread And The Fugitive Mind
10. Silent Scorn
11. Return to Hangar
12. When
13. Coming Home (CD Bonus Track)

“The System Has Failed” 2019 reissue

Release date: February 15

01. Blackmail The Universe
02. Die Dead Enough
03. Kick The Choir
04. The Scorpion
05. Tears In A Vial
06. I Know Jack
07. Back In The Day
08. Something That I'm Not
09. Truth Be Told
10. Of Mice And Men
11. Shadow Of Deth
12. My Kingdom
13. Time / Use The Man (Live) (CD Bonus Track)
14. Conjuring (Live) (CD Bonus Track)

See also:

Megadeth updates progress on new album
Megadeth expand MegaCruise lineup
Megadeth stream video from new album sessions
Megadeth announce MegaCruise lineup
Search Megadeth at hennemusic