Saturday, April 20, 2019

Duff McKagan streams new song Don’t Look Behind You

Duff McKagan is streaming the track “Don’t Look Behind You”, as the latest preview to his forthcoming album, “Tenderness.”

It’s the closing song from the project, due May 31, which sees the Guns N’ Roses bassist working with artist and producer Shooter Jennings.

“Fortune shone my way when Shooter and I began to work on the structures of the songs,” explains McKagan about the experience. “Shooter has a brilliant mind, and a seemingly endless musical catalogue bouncing around in his head that he’s ready to tap into at any moment. He believed in this thing from day one, and that gave me the confidence and energy to forge on.

“Shooter, seemingly, can play any musical instrument, but instead of that being sort of daunting to me, he works in such an honest way that I never once felt like I was in the company of a guy trying to show me up. The contrary was in fact true. He made me a better acoustic guitar player, and more at ease as a singer. His ability to get real and authentic sounds in the studio are second to none, and making this record was one of the most inspiring musical experiences of my career.”

Billed as the musical follow-up to McKagan’s 2015’s bestselling book, “How To Be A Man (And Other Illusions)”, the rocker will be perform the record with Jennings and his band during a three-week series of US dates, which will begin in Philadelphia, PA on May 30.

The spring trek will feature stops in most major markets including Boston, New York, Chicago, Nashville, Austin and San Francisco before wrapping up in McKagan’s hometown of Seattle, WA on June 16.

“Tenderness” will be available in multiple formats, including CD, digital and vinyl – with a limited-edition package on 180-gram yellow & red starburst vinyl that also adds the CD, an exclusive lithograph signed and numbered by McKagan, and a deluxe hard-cover book presenting photos and liner notes from the recording sessions.

Duff McKagan

Release date: May 31

01. Tenderness
02. It’s Not Too Late
03. Wasted Heart
04. Falling Down
05. Last September
06. Chip Away
07. Cold Outside
08. Feel
09. Breaking Rocks
10. Parkland
11. Don’t Look Behind You

See also:

Slash reveals Guns N’ Roses plans for 2019
Guns N’ Roses announce first show of 2019
Duff McKagan announces US tour and streams new single Chip Away
Slash streams video from European tour show in Berlin
Search Guns N Roses at hennemusic