Friday, June 7, 2019

Stone Temple Pilots to release 25th anniversary super deluxe edition of Purple

Stone Temple Pilots will mark the 25th anniversary of their second album, “Purple”, by releasing an expanded Super Deluxe Edition on September 13.

Following the smash success of their 1992 debut, “Core” – which hit No. 2 on the Billboard 200 on its way to a Grammy Award and US sales of more than 8 million copies – the San Diego, CA outfit returned to the studio for the follow-up.

Produced by Brenden O’Brien and led by the singles “Big Empty”, “Vasoline” and “Interstate Love Song”, “Purple” debuted at No. I in the US while going on to sell more than 6 million copies in the country.

The 3CD/1LP “Purple: Super Deluxe Edition” will include a newly remastered version of the original studio album on both CD and vinyl, plus unreleased versions of album tracks and rarities, along with an unreleased full concert recording from 1994.

The 25th anniversary reissue explores the making of the album with a mix of unreleased music that includes demos (“Unglued” and “Army Ants”) and early versions of album tracks (“Meat Plow” and "Interstate Love Song"), plus acoustic recordings (“Big Empty”). The collection also features three unreleased live performances from the 1994 KROQ Acoustic Christmas show, including a version of “Christmastime Is Here” from A Charlie Brown Christmas. Perhaps the biggest surprise of the new collection, however, is STP’s previously unreleased demo of “She Knows Me Too Well,” a song the Beach Boys originally recorded in 1965.

The expanded project closes with a previously unreleased recording of the band’s August 23, 1994 concert in New Haven, Connecticut. The 17-song performance captures the band in top form with both electric and acoustic sets, featuring 10 songs from "Purple" along with hits from "Core" (“Plush” and “Sex Type Thing”) and covers (David Bowie’s “Andy Warhol” and Woody Guthrie’s “Gypsy Davy”).

September 13 will also see the release available both digitally and as a 2-CD Deluxe Edition.

“Purple: Super Deluxe Edition” is being previewed with a previously-unreleased acoustic version of the set’s lead single, “Big Empty.”

Stone Temple Pilots will launch a co-headlining U.S. tour with Rival Sons on September 13 in Baltimore, MD.

Stone Temple Pilots
"Purple: Super Deluxe Edition"

Release date: September 13

Disc One: Purple 2019 Remaster

01. Meat Plow
02. Vasoline
03. Lounge Fly
04. Interstate Love Song
05. Still Remains
06. Pretty Penny
07. Silvergun Superman
08. Big Empty
09. Unglued
10. Army Ants
11. Kitchenware & Candybars

Disc Two: Early Versions, Demos & Acoustic

01. Meat Plow – Early Version *
02. Interstate Love Song – Early Version *
03. Big Empty – Acoustic Version *
04. Unglued – Demo *
05. Army Ants – Demo *
06. Kitchenware & Candybars – Demo *
07. Dancing Days
08. She Knows Me Too Well – Demo *
09. Interstate Love Song – Acoustic Version * (Live At KROQ Acoustic Christmas 1994)
10. Pretty Penny – Acoustic Version *
11. Kitchenware & Candybars – Acoustic Version *
12. Christmastime Is Here – Acoustic Version *

Disc Three: Live at New Haven Veterans Memorial Coliseum, New Haven, CT, August 23, 1994

01. Vasoline *
02. Silvergun Superman *
03. Crackerman *
04. Lounge Fly *
05. Meat Plow *
06. Still Remains *
07. Gypsy Davy *
08. Pretty Penny *
09. Creep *
10. Andy Warhol *
11. Army Ants *
12. Big Empty *
13. Interstate Love Song *
14. Plush *
15. Unglued *
16. Dead & Bloated *
17. Sex Type Thing *

* previously unreleased

Bonus "Interstate Love Song 7-inch

Side 1

01. Interstate Love Song

Side 2

01. Lounge Fly

See also:

Stone Temple Pilots announce fall US tour with Rival Sons
Stone Temple Pilots add UK dates to European tour
Stone Temple Pilots announce South American tour with Bush
Stone Temple Pilots announce Canadian tour
Search Stone Temple Pilots at hennemusic