Friday, October 4, 2019

Judas Priest: Rob Halford streams Christmas classic from Celestial

Judas Priest frontman Rob Halford is streaming his cover of the seasonal classic, “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing”, as the latest preview of his forthcoming Christmas album, “Celestial.”

Due October 18, the project - billed as Rob Halford with Family and Friends – mixes holiday classics with all-new compositions as he is joined by a supporting cast that includes his brother, Nigel, on drums, his nephew, Alex (son of Priest bassist Ian Hill) on bass, his sister, Sue, on bells, and the twin guitar tandem of Robert Jones and Jon Blakey.

Among the classic holiday standards the singer takes on are “Deck The Halls”, “God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen” and “Joy To The World.”

“Metal maniacs - as we call ourselves - are just as ready for the holidays as everybody else,” says Halford. “I think the holidays for any family are a mixture of fun and excitement and apprehension of the whole event. The magic of it more than anything else. It’s just a beautiful time of year - which a lot of us wish would be for every day of the year. It’s a beautiful thing as far as bringing families together.

“So, what better way to celebrate it than with your family, friends...and music. You must have music at Christmas time.”

Halford and Judas Priest will join Ozzy Osbourne for a rescheduled European tour that begins at the end of January.

Rob Halford

Release date: October 18

01. Celestial [new song]
02. Donner And Blitzen [new song]
03. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
04. Away In A Manger
05. Morning Star [new song]
06. Deck The Halls
07. Joy To The World
08. O Little Town Of Bethlehem
09. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing
10. The First Noel
11. Good King Wenceslas
12. Protected By The Light [new song]

See also:

VIDEO: Richie Faulkner performs with Judas Priest tribute band in Nashville
Judas Priest frontman Rob Halford previews Christmas album Celestial
Judas Priest fans raise $150,000 for Glenn Tipton’s Parkinson’s Foundation
Judas Priest thank fans for support of Firepower world tour
Search Judas Priest at hennemusic