Monday, June 29, 2020

Pearl Jam bassist Jeff Ament releases new EP

Pearl Jam bassist Jeff Ament surprise-released a new EP, “American Death Squad”, on June 26.

"In the days following the postponement of our tour, I found it necessary to find an outlet for the energy we had created going into the tour,” Ament explains. “Pivot was the word of March. So, every morning, I retreated to the studio with the goal of writing a song every day, no matter how s***e.

“Days of isolating and watching the news of the destruction courtesy the virus (and the ineptitude of our leadership or as named here, the American Death Squad) made for vivid dreams and a helplessness. These were some of the first songs out of the gate. Raw and succinct."

The rocker is highlighting the 5-song EP’s arrival with a video for the project’s lead track, "The Divine Perfume."

Following its digital release, “American Death Squad” will be available via 7-inch vinyl and is expected to ship in August.

Ament issued his third solo album, “Heaven/Hell”, in 2018.

Pearl Jam released a new album, “Gigaton”, in March; produced by Josh Evans and the group, the project debuted at No. 5 on the US Billboard 200.

The Seattle outfit postponed a spring tour of North America and a summer trek across Europe due to the ongoing global health crisis.

Jeff Ament
“American Death Squad” EP

Release date: June 26

01 – The Divine Perfume
02 – No Papers
03 – Loss Leader
04 – Killer
05 – Revenge

See also:

Pearl Jam stream debut performance of Dance Of The Clairvoyants
Pearl Jam among acts confirmed for Washington state COVID-19 Relief concert
Pearl Jam debut animated video for Gigaton track Retrograde
Pearl Jam preview Retrograde video release
Search Pearl Jam at hennemusic