Wednesday, October 14, 2020

AC/DC pay tribute to Malcolm Young with new album Power Up

AC/DC pay tribute to their late co-founder Malcolm Young on their forthcoming album, “Power Up.”

The guitarist passed away in 2017 at the age of 64, three years after he retired from the group due to dementia.

“Power Up” features riffs written by Malcolm during extensive writing sessions around the band’s 2008 record, “Black Ice”, with every track credited to Angus and Malcolm Young.

"I know Mal's not with us anymore, but he's there with us in spirit,” says Angus in a new video. "This band was his baby, his life. He was always one [to say], 'You keep going.' His big line always, every now and again, he'd go... he always said, 'If you're a musician, it's a bit like being on the Titanic. The band goes down with the ship.' That's how he viewed it."

Angus brought in their nephew, Stevie Young, to handle rhythm guitar for the recording of 2014’s “Rock Or Bust” and its companion tour, and he’s featured again on the new album as part of a classic lineup that includes singer Brian Johnson, bassist Cliff Williams and drummer Phil Rudd.

Due November 13, “Power Up” is being previewed with the lead single, “Shot In The Dark.”

“Power Up”

Release date: November 13

01. “Realize”
02. “Rejection”
03. “Shot In The Dark”
04. “Through The Mists Of Time”
05. “Kick You When You’re Down”
06. “Witch’s Spell”
07. “Demon Fire”
08. “Wild Reputation”
09. “No Man’s Land”
10. “Systems Down”
11. “Money Shot”
12. “Code Red”

See also:

AC/DC detail new album Power Up
AC/DC stream new single Shot In The Dark
AC/DC preview new single Shot In The Dark
New AC/DC single featured in Dodge commercial
Search AC/DC at hennemusic