Wednesday, December 2, 2020

Black Sabbath announce Vol. 4 expanded reissue

Black Sabbath will release an expanded reissue of their 1972 album, “Vol. 4”, on February 12, 2021.

The band’s fourth record – which featured classic tracks like “Supernaut”, “Snowblind” and “Tomorrow’s Dream” – reached No. 4 in their native UK and peaked at No. 13 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to selling a million copies in the country.

The 2021 Super Deluxe Edition reissue presents a remastered version of the original album alongside 20 unreleased studio and live recordings from the era.

Among the bonus material is six previously unreleased studio outtakes from the original sessions, newly mixed by Steven Wilson using the analog multi-tracks; fans will hear outtakes for “Supernaut” and “Changes,” as well an instrumental version of “Under The Sun.” The set also features 11 additional studio recordings (also newly mixed by Wilson) that spotlight alternative takes, false starts and snippets of studio dialogue.

The package is rounded out with a collection of live performances that re-create a typical setlist from Black Sabbath’s tour for “Vol 4.” Recorded in March 1973 at various stops along the band’s U.K. tour, the recordings were originally slated for a live album that was ultimately shelved.

The “Vol. 4” Super Deluxe Edition will be available in a 4-CD and 5-LP packages; both will include extensive booklets featuring liner notes with quotes from the era from all four band members, rare photos, and a poster with previously unpublished early artwork of the album using the working title Snowblind.

The reissue is being previewed with the 2021 remastered audio version of “Tomorrow’s Dream.”

Black Sabbath
"Vol 4: Super Deluxe Edition"

Release date: February 12, 2021

CD Track Listing

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

01. Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener
02. Tomorrow's Dream
03. Changes
04. FX
05. Supernaut
06. Snowblind
07. Cornucopia
08. Laguna Sunrise
09. St. Vitus Dance
10. Under The Sun / Every Day Comes And Goes

Disc Two: Outtakes - New Mixes

01. Wheels Of Confusion / The Straightener *
02. Changes *
03. Supernaut *
04. Snowblind *
05. Laguna Sunrise * 06. Under The Sun (Instrumental) *

Disc Three: Alternative Takes, False Starts & Studio Dialogue

01. Wheels Of Confusion (False Start with Studio Dialogue) *
02. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 1) *
03. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 2) *
04. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 3) *
05. Wheels Of Confusion (Alternative Take 4) *
06. The Straightener (Outtake) *
07. Supernaut (Outtake) *
08. Supernaut (Alternative Takes with False Starts) *
09. Snowblind (Alternative Take 1 - Incomplete) *
10. Under The Sun (False Start with Studio Dialogue) *
11. Under The Sun (Alternative Take with Guide Vocal) *

Disc Four: Live In The UK 1973

01. Tomorrow's Dream *
02. Sweet Leaf *
03. War Pigs
04. Snowblind *
05. Killing Yourself To Live
06. Cornucopia
07. Wicked World (includes excerpts of:
i. Guitar Solo
ii. Orchid
iii. Into The Void
iv. Sometimes I'm Happy
08. Supernaut / Drum Solo
09. Wicked World (Reprise)
10. Embryo
11. Children Of The Grave
12. Paranoid

* previously unreleased

See also:

Ozzy Osbourne streams Blizzard Of Ozzy yule log
Ozzy Osbourne announces rescheduled European tour dates
Black Sabbath and Pink Floyd members team up on cancer charity album
Ozzy Osbourne tour rebooked for 2022
Search Black Sabbath at hennemusic