Thursday, March 4, 2021

Tom Petty previews Finding Wildflowers collection

Tom Petty’s team are streaming a video for “You Saw Me Comin’” as the first preview to the forthcoming collection, “Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions).”

“There’s this kind of longing in the song, in the way that he wrote the chord structure, the melody and the lyrics," said Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench in a statement. The song was recorded in 1992, but ultimately did not make the track listing for 1994's “Wildflowers.” “It’s wistful, and it would have been the perfect way to end the disc.”

Due April 16, the 16-song set presents alternate takes, long cuts and jam versions of tunes captured during sessions for Petty’s second solo record as he, band members and co-producer Rick Rubin worked to finalize the project.

The alternate versions collection was originally available on the limited-edition Super Deluxe 9-LP and 5CD versions of 2020’s “Wildflowers & All The Rest”, which delivered the original album and many extras, including home demos, unreleased tracks and live recordings.

“Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions)” will be available on CD, digital and streaming services, with a limited edition gold vinyl edition available at and indie retail, while a black vinyl release will follow on May 7.

Petty passed away in October of 2017 at the age of 66 in a Santa Monica, CA hospital after being found unconscious and in cardiac arrest at his Malibu home.

Tom Petty
“Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions)”

Release date: April 16

01 – A Higher Place (Alternate Version)
02 – Hard On Me (Alternate Version)
03 – Cabin Down Below (Alternate Version)
04 – Crawling Back To You (Alternate Version)
05 – Only A Broken Heart (Alternate Version)
06 – Drivin' Down To Georgia (Alternate Version)
07 – You Wreck Me (Alternate Version)
08 – It's Good To Be King (Alternate Version)
09 – House In The Woods (Alternate Version)
10 – Honey Bee (Alternate Version)
11 – Girl On LSD (Alternate Version)
12 – Cabin Down Below (Acoustic Version)
13 – Wildflowers (Alternate Version)
14 – Don't Fade On Me (Alternate Version)
15 – Wake Up Time (Alternate Version)
16 – You Saw Me Comin' (Alternate Version)

See also:

Tom Petty releases Something Can Happen video
Tom Petty returns to US Top 10 with Wildflowers reissue
Tom Petty virtual festival to feature Foo Fighters, Stevie Nicks and more
Tom Petty debuts Leave Virginia Alone video
Search Tom Petty at hennemusic