Monday, July 12, 2021

Yes announce new album The Quest

Yes will release a new album, “The Quest”, on October 1.

The iconic band’s 22nd studio record is their first since 2014’s "Heaven & Earth" and the 2015 passing of founder Chris Squire.

The current line-up of Yes was completed in 2015 when Billy Sherwood stepped in to handles bass duties – at Squire’s insistence – as he bravely fought a losing battle with leukaemia.

Since then, Yes have concentrated on touring with their Album Series tours, each featuring a classic album in its entirety; during this period, Yes have released three live albums: “Topographic Drama – Live Across America” (2017), “YES50 Live” (2019) and “The Royal Affair Tour: Live in Las Vegas” (2020).

The current lineup includes guitarist Steve Howe, drummer Alan White, keyboardist Geoff Downes, singer Jon Davison, and Sherwood.

“It is simply an honor for me to have the opportunity to bring together the band members in the development of a well-refined set of songs that capture the band’s true potential,” says Howe, who produced the album. “Much of the music was written in late 2019 with the rest in 2020. We commissioned several orchestrations to augment and enhance the overall sound of these fresh new recordings, hoping that our emphasis on melody, coupled with some expansive instrumental solo breaks, keeps up the momentum for our listeners.”

Additional percussion was provided by guest Jay Schellen who supplements Yes’ live performances.

“The Quest” will be available in multiple formats, including Limited Edition Deluxe 2LP & 2CD plus Blu-ray Box-set, Limited Edition 2CD & Blu-ray Artbook, Gatefold 2LP & 2CD plus LP and booklet, 2CD Digipak, Digital Album, Vinyl, 5.1 Blu-ray, and CD. Yes
"The Quest"
2CD digipak edition
Release date: October 1


01. The Ice Bridge
02. Dare To Know
03. Minus The Man
04. Leave Well Alone
05. The Western Edge
06. Future Memories
07. Music To My Ears
08. A Living Island


01. Sister Sleeping Soul
02. Mystery Tour
03. Damaged World

See also:

Yes reschedule UK and European Relayer tour
Yes stream Owner Of A Lonely Heart from Union 30 Live package
Yes preview Roundabout from 30th anniversary Union Live box set
Yes stream live version of John Lennon classic Imagine
Search Yes at hennemusic