Thursday, October 7, 2021

Deep Purple announce covers album Turning To Crime

Deep Purple have announced details of their forthcoming covers album, “Turning To Crime.”

Due November 26 and produced by Bob Ezrin, the project is the first studio record by the legendary outfit entirely made of songs not written by the band and previously recorded by other artists.

The follow-up to 2020’s “Whoosh!” features songs originally done by Cream, The Yardbirds, Fleetwood Mac, Bob Dylan and more.

“Turning To Crime” will be available in multiple formats, including limited colored vinyl 2LP, classic black vinyl 2LP, Digisleeve CD, Jewelbox CD, and digital.

The set is being previewed with Deep Purple’s version of the 1966 Arthur Lee and Love track, “7 and 7 Is”; hear both the original and new recordings below alongside a video trailer for “Turning To Crime.”

Deep Purple
“Turning To Crime”

Release date: November 26

01. 7 And 7 Is (orig by Love)
02. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu (orig by Huey ‘Piano’ Smith)
03. Oh Well (orig by Fleetwood Mac)
04. Jenny Take A Ride! (orig by Mitch Ryder And The Detroit Wheels)
05. Watching The River Flow (orig by Bob Dylan)
06. Let The Good Times Roll (orig by Ray Charles and Quincy Jones)
07. Dixie Chicken (orig by Little Feat)
08. Shapes Of Things (orig by The Yardbirds)
09. The Battle Of New Orleans (orig by Lonnie Donegan/Johnny Horton)
10. Lucifer (orig by Bob Seger System)
11. White Room (orig by Cream)
12. Caught In The Act [Medley: Going Down/Green Onions/Hot ‘Lanta/Dazed and Confused/Gimme Some Lovin’]

See also:

Deep Purple tease new music update
Deep Purple expand Soundboard Series with 2002 London concert recording
Deep Purple reschedule UK tour to 2022
Deep Purple premiere Nothing At All video
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic
Search Rainbow at hennemusic