Wednesday, March 9, 2022

Alex Lifeson‘s Envy Of None debut Look Inside video

Envy Of None – the new band featuring Rush guitarist Alex Lifeson – is debuting a video for “Look Inside”, the current single from their forthcoming self-titled debut album.

The project sees Lifeson working with Coney Hatch founder/bassist Andy Curran, producer and engineer Alfio Annibalini, and singer-songwriter Maiah Wynne for the record, which will be released on April 8.

“I was in my studio late one night, headphones on… a few glasses of red wine deep and thought, wouldn’t it be fun to pull out my bass, blow up the tone, double it and play to a really messed up super slow drum groove,” recalls Curran of the song’s creation. “It’s got a real stoner vibe to it. That’s what happens when you mix wine and bass… Mission accomplished!"

With the rough bed track and song name sent to Wynne, her initial thoughts were one of introspection.

“Sometimes you have to shine a light on all the ugliest pieces of yourself in order to truly change, and you have to keep slaying that dragon over and over again,” says Wynne. “It is a continuous, slow and painful process. The guitars and bass really drive the grittiness and heaviness I felt when I wrote those lyrics. It feels like an all-encompassing sludge, and that is what I absolutely love about this song.”

“Maiah’s lilting vocal performance was an inspiration,”
adds Lifeson.

“Look Inside” follows “Liar” as the second official track issued in advance of the record’s arrival next month.

Envy Of None
"Envy Of None"

Release date: April 8

01. Never Said I Love You
02. Shadow
03. Look Inside
04. Liar
05. Spy House
06. Dog's Life
07. Kabul Blues
08. Old Strings
09. Dumb
10. Enemy
11. Western Sunset

See also:

First Neil Peart Spirit Of Drumming Scholarship winner announced
Alex Lifeson‘s Envy Of None stream new single Look Inside
Rush stream live Vital Signs from Moving Pictures 40th anniversary reissue
Rush announce expanded Moving Pictures 40th anniversary reissues
Search Rush at hennemusic