Saturday, April 16, 2022

Alice In Chains singer William DuVall previews new live album

Alice In Chains singer William DuVall is streaming audio of a performance of “Rockslide” as the first preview to his newly-announced album, “11.12.21 Live-In-Studio Nashville.”

Due June 10, the rocker’s second solo record captures an explosive power trio performance recorded live direct-to-disc at the famed Welcome To 1979 Studio in Nashville, TN on November 12, 2021.

No "fixing" or remixing took place after the fact whatsoever, providing listeners with a raw, supercharged performance.

“I cut a record last year. Literally,” says DuVall. “No computers, no tape. Just a needle cutting grooves directly into a plastic lacquer disc as we played live. The ‘we’ in question is myself on the 6 (and the singing), the great Jeffrey Blount on the 4, and the phenomenal Greyson Nekrutman on batterie.

“Four songs per side, no dead air and no breaks (except to change the lacquer between sides). An album recorded and mixed in just under 40 minutes but informed by many lifetimes.”

The CD edition is housed in a 6-panel gatefold Digipak; the first 500 are autographed by DuVall.

The live package follows Duvall’s 2019 solo debut, “One Alone”, which saw the singer deliver new material in a stripped-down format with just his voice and an acoustic guitar.

DuVall will regroup with Alice In Chains this summer for a co-headlining US tour with Breaking Benjamin – and guests Bush – with dates starting in August.

William DuVall
"11.12.21 Live-In-Studio Nashville"

Release date: June 10

01. The Last Light
02. The 3 Wishes
03. Unbreakable
04. Fire Come Down
05. Rockslide
06. So Divine
07. White Hot
08. Flying Blind

See also:

Jerry Cantrell cancels Florida shows due to touring party Covid
Jerry Cantrell debuts animated video for Brighten single Siren Song
Alice In Chains announce US summer tour with Breaking Benjamin
Jerry Cantrell announces Brighten livestream event