Tuesday, September 20, 2022

John Mellencamp previews expanded Scarecrow reissue

John Mellencamp is sharing multiple versions of his classic hit, “Small Town”, as a preview to the November 4 release of an expanded Deluxe reissue of his 1985 album, “Scarecrow.”

The Indiana rocker is streaming a writer’s demo, an acoustic take and a new 2022 remix of the song from his eighth studio record, which reached No. 2 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to sales of more than 5 million copies in the region; the set also included the hit singles "R.O.C.K. in the U.S.A. (A Salute to '60s Rock)" and “Lonely Ol’ Night.”

The “Scarecrow Deluxe” reissue will be issued as a box set including 2 CDs of newly-remixed and remastered songs plus previously unreleased bonus tracks and alternate versions, a booklet full of rare photographs and all new liner notes by acclaimed author and music critic Anthony DeCurtis.

Check out a Super Deluxe Edition at Amazon here and a 2022 remix edition here.

Mellencamp’s latest studio album is 2022’s “Strictly A One-Eyed Jack”, which features multiple songs co-written with and featuring Bruce Springsteen.

The singer will next be seen performing at Farm Aid 2022 in Raleigh, NC on September 24.

John Mellencamp
“Scarecrow Deluxe”

Release date: November 4

01. Rain On The Scarecrow
02. Grandma’s Theme
03. Small Town
04. Minutes To Memories
05. Lonely Ol’ Night
06. The Face Of The Nation
07. Justice And Independence ‘85
08. Between A Laugh And A Tear
09. Rumbleseat
10. You’ve Got To Stand For Somethin’
11. R.O.C.K. IN THE U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock)
12. The Kind Of Fella I Am
13. Small Town (Acoustic Version)

CD2 01. Under The Boardwalk
02. Lonely Ol’ Night (Rough Mix)
03. Between A Laugh And A Tear (Writer’s Demo)
04. Carolina Shag
05. Cold Sweat
06. Rumbleseat (Writer’s Demo)
07. Smart Guys
08. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock) (Rough Mix)
09. Minutes To Memories (Rough Mix)
10. Shama Lama Ding Dong
11. Small Town (Writer’s Demo)

See also:

John Mellencamp joined by Bruce Springsteen on new single Did You Say Such A Thing
John Mellencamp streams new album Strictly A One-Eyed Jack
John Mellencamp previews new album Strictly A One-Eyed Jack
John Mellencamp releases new single featuring Bruce Springsteen
Search John Mellencamp at hennemusic