Tuesday, April 11, 2023

Aerosmith: Joe Perry streams lead single from new solo album

Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry is streaming “Fortunate One” as the lead single to his forthcoming album, “Sweetzerland Manifesto MKII.”

Co-written by Joe’s sons Tony and Roman, the track features vocals by Chris Robinson of The Black Crowes and bass by Robert DeLeo of Stone Temple Pilots.

Due May 26, the 10-song project delivers six new songs and alternate vocal appearances and mixes from Perry’s 2018 album, “Sweetzerland Manifesto.”

“I’m really excited to get this song out,” says Perry about “Fortunate One.” “It hadn’t been written when the first version of ‘Sweetzerland Manifesto’ was released. Tony and I wrote it together, and then my old friend Chris Robinson sang on it and knocked it outta the park! It doesn’t get better than that!! Really proud of this track.”

Also appearing on the record are Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander, Extreme’s Gary Cherone, David Johansen and UK vocalist Terry Reid.

"Sweetzerland Manifesto MKII" serves as a companion to the original 2018 album, which saw Perry write and record the bulk of the material for both versions at the Los Angeles home of his Hollywood Vampires bandmate Johnny Depp back in 2017.

"We had so many songs and with everything going on with the Vampires, Aerosmith, COVID, not touring and touring, this music kept riding along for me," explains Perry. "It was like the engine of a train that wasn't going to stop. I'd wanted to put these songs out, and the idea of adding them to a vinyl release or Deluxe Version turned into doing MKII. I tend to think in terms of albums. The first one had a vibe, and MKII is a little more rocked out. I almost prefer it. It's one of those records I can play from front to back live."

“Fortunate One” arrives just days before The Joe Perry Project launch a brief spring US tour in Mashantucket, CT on April 15.

Pick up your copy of “Fortunate One” here.

Joe Perry
“Sweetzerland Manifesto MKII”

Release date: May 26

01. Fortunate One (ft. The Black Crowes' Chris Robinson and Stone Temple Pilots' Robert DeLeo)
02. Quake (ft. Gary Cherone of Extreme)
03. I'll Do Happiness (ft. Terry Reid)
04. Aye Aye Aye (ft. Robin Zander of Cheap Trick)
05. Man With Aa Golden Arm (instrumental)
06. Time Will Tell
07. I Wanna Roll (ft. David Johansen)
08. Suck It Up (ft. Robin Zander and Robert DeLeo)
09. Goes His Own Way (ft. Terry Reid)
10. Won't Let Me Go (ft. Terry Reid)

See also:

Rolling Stones and Aerosmith members added to Jeff Beck tribute concerts
Aerosmith: The Joe Perry Project announces spring US tour
Aerosmith cancel final Las Vegas residency shows due to illness
Rock News Artist Of The Year No. 10: AEROSMITH
Search Aerosmith at hennemusic