Tuesday, April 30, 2024

Deep Purple stream lead single Portable Door from new album =1

Deep Purple is streaming a video for “Portable Door”, the lead single from their newly-announced album, “=1”.

Due July 19 and produced by Bob Ezrin, the project marks the iconic group’s first release with new guitarist Simon McBride, who joined the lineup in 2022 when longtime member Steve Morse left due to personal circumstances.

“The new album will reflect what the five of us create in the rehearsal room,” explains McBride. “Many of the songs, like 'Portable Door', were written in the first sessions and literally came together in 5 or 10 minutes. It all was so easy and natural.”

“Throughout Deep Purple's history, our best songs have always been those that were written in no time at all,”
adds vocalist Ian Gillan. “We've played what felt good and developed songs as we have always done."

The record’s title “=1” symbolizes the idea that in a world growing ever more complex, everything eventually simplifies down to a single, unified essence: everything equals one.

“=1” will be available in multiple formats and packages, including s Ltd. CD+DVD (Digipak), CD (Jewelcase), 2LP Gatefold (black, 180g), Ltd. Purple 2LP Gatefold (180g), Ltd. Crystal Clear 2LP (180g) and Ltd. Box Set (CD+DVD Digipak, 2LP black Gatefold, 3x exclusive 10" vinyl editions feat. live recordings from Deep Purple's 2022 tour, exclusive Collector's T-shirt, 2x exclusive guitar picks, 1x exclusive art print, 1x exclusive lanyard, and the chance to win a Golden Ticket giving access to all shows on the Deep Purple "=1 MORE TIME"-tour).

All LPs include a rich 12-page vinyl sized booklet.

The bonus DVD features the approx. 60min documentary 'Access All Areas' joining Deep Purple backstage on tour and providing an exclusive look behind the scenes.

Deep Purple will support “=1” with North American live dates later this year, which will be followed by shows across the UK and Europe in the fall.

Add some Deep Purple to your collection here.

Deep Purple

Release date: July 19

01. Show Me
02. A Bit On The Side
03. Sharp Shooter
04. Portable Door
05. Old-Fangled Thing
06. If I Were You
07. Pictures Of You
08. I'm Saying Nothin'
09. Lazy Sod
10. Now You're Talkin'
11. No Money To Burn
12. I'll Catch You
13. Bleeding Obvious

See also:

Deep Purple announce North American tour with Yes
Deep Purple announce UK and European tour dates
Deep Purple release official Smoke On The Water video
Deep Purple welcome guitarist Simon McBride as permanent band member
Search Deep Purple at hennemusic
Search Whitesnake at hennemusic