Thursday, December 3, 2015

Black Sabbath to release expanded editions of first three albums

Black Sabbath will release expanded editions of their first three albums in sync with the launch of their farewell tour in the New Year.

Due January 22 as 2CD and 2LP sets, fans will have access to Deluxe Editions of 1970’s “Black Sabbath” and “Paranoid”, and 1971’s “Master Of Reality” – each with the 2012 remaster of the original albums plus a second disc of outtakes that are previously unreleased in North America.

The band’s groundbreaking self-titled debut will be rounded out with studio outtakes from the original 1969 sessions, including alternate versions of the title track and “N.I.B.,” as well two versions of the UK single “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Games With Me).”

Sabbath’s second 1970 release “Paranoid” presents instrumental takes on “War Pigs,” “Iron Man” and more, along with versions of the title track and “Planet Caravan” with alternate lyrics.

“Master Of Reality” adds versions of “Children Of The Grave” and “Sweet Leaf” with alternate lyrics alongside an instrumental version of “After Forever” and an outtake for “Solitude” that features an alternative guitar tuning.

In addition to the three expanded editions, the group are also reissuing the out-of-print 2002 collection, “Past Lives”, as 2CD and 2LP sets featuring live performances recorded between 1970 and 1975.

Black Sabbath will launch their 2016 farewell tour on January 20 in Omaha, NE.

Billed as “The End”, the trek marks the group’s final series of live shows after a five-decade career.

Black Sabbath
Deluxe Editions

Release date: January 22, 2016


Disc One

1. “Black Sabbath”
2. “The Wizard”
3. “Wasp/Behind The Wall Of Sleep/Bassically/N.I.B.”
4. “Wicked World”
5. “A Bit Of Finger/Sleeping Village/Warning”

Disc Two

1. “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)”
2. “Black Sabbath” – Studio Outtake *
3. “Black Sabbath” – Instrumental *
4. “The Wizard” – Studio Outtake *
5. “N.I.B.” – Alternate Version *
6. “Evil Woman (Don’t Play Your Games With Me)” – Alternate Version *
7. “Sleeping Village” (Intro) – Alternate Version *
8. “Warning” (Part 1) – Studio Outtake *


Disc One

1. “War Pigs / Luke’s Wall”
2. “Paranoid”
3. “Planet Caravan”
4. “Iron Man”
5. “Electric Funeral”
6. “Hand Of Doom”
7. “Rat Salad”
8. “Jack The Stripper/Fairies Wear Boots”

Disc Two

1. “War Pigs” – Instrumental *
2. “Paranoid” – Alternate Lyrics *
3. “Planet Caravan” – Alternate Lyrics *
4. “Iron Man” – Instrumental *
5. “Electric Funeral” – Instrumental *
6. “Hand Of Doom” – Instrumental *
7. “Rat Salad” – Alternate Mix *
8. “Fairies Wear Boots” – Instrumental *


Disc One

1. “Sweet Leaf”
2. “After Forever”
3. “Embryo”
4. “Children Of The Grave”
5. “Orchid”
6. “Lord Of This World”
7. “Solitude”
8. “Into The Void”

Disc Two

1. “Evil Woman ’71” *
2. “Sweet Leaf” – Studio Outtake *
3. “After Forever” – Studio Outtake Instrumental *
4. “Children Of The Grave”– Studio Outtake *
5. “Children Of The Grave” – Studio Outtake Instrumental *
6. “Orchid” – Studio Outtake *
7. “Lord Of This World” – Studio Outtake *
8. “Solitude” – Studio Outtake *
9. “Into The Void (Spanish Sid)” – Studio Outtake *

* previously unreleased in North America

See also:

Black Sabbath may release extra tracks from 13 sessions
Ozzy Osbourne producing show for The History Channel
Black Sabbath add German festival dates to farewell tour
Black Sabbath expand North American farewell tour
Search Black Sabbath at hennemusic