Thursday, February 18, 2016

Eric Clapton announces new album I Still Do

Eric Clapton will release a new album, “I Still Do”, on May 20.

The project sees the guitarist reunite with “Slowhand” producer Glyn Johns.

“This was a long and overdue opportunity to work with Glyn Johns again,” says Clapton, “and also, incidentally, the fortieth anniversary of 'Slowhand'!”

The follow-up to 2013’s “Old Sock” mixes Clapton originals with covers and was recorded with many musicians who have worked alongside the guitarist throughout the years.

The album’s artwork – a carefully-crafted illustration of Clapton – is the work of esteemed artist Sir Peter Blake, whose previous art includes the co-design of The Beatles’ “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” album sleeve, as well as the Band Aid single “Do They Know It’s Christmas?,”Paul Weller’s “Stanley Road” and The Who’s “Face Dances.”

“I Still Do” follows the 2014 chart-topping collaborative album, “Eric Clapton & Friends: The Breeze, An Appreciation of JJ Cale”, which saw the guitarist work with Tom Petty, Mark Knopfler, John Mayer and Willie Nelson and others.

Eric Clapton
“I Still Do”

Release date: May 20

01. "Alabama Woman Blues"
02. "Can't Let You Do It"
03. "I Will Be There"
04. "Spiral"
05. "Catch the Blues"
06. "Cypress Grove"
07. "Little Man, You've Had a Busy Day"
08. "Stones in My Passway"
09. "I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine"
10. "I'll Be Alright"
11. "Somebody's Knockin'"
12. "I'll Be Seeing You"

See also:

Eric Clapton to release 9-LP vinyl box set
Eric Clapton to release Slowhand At 70 concert film
VIDEO: Eric Clapton previews Cocaine from new concert film
Eric Clapton 70th birthday concert film coming to cinemas worldwide
Search Eric Clapton at hennemusic