Wednesday, May 4, 2016

Black Crowes guitarist Rich Robinson to release new album Flux

Black Crowes guitarist Rich Robinson will release his fourth solo album, “Flux”, on June 24 via Eagle Rock Entertainment.

Robinson recorded the project at Applehead Studios in Saugerties, New York, where he did 2014’s “The Ceaseless Light” and a series of live recordings billed as “The Woodstock Sessions.”

“Flux” features 13 new tracks by the blues-rocker.

"I love being in the recording studio," says Robinson. "It fuels the desire to create within me. I enjoy watching it unfold. Each development fires another idea and in the end, you have this organically created song that seemingly came out of nowhere. It brings me such joy and peace. It never ceases to amaze me."

The guitarist is joined on the project by bassist Zak Gabbard, drummer Joe Magistro, keyboardists Matt Slocum, Marco Benevento and Danny Mitchell, as well as vocalists John Hogg and Danielia Cotton.

The set also includes a guest appearance by Blackberry Smoke frontman and guitarist Charlie Starr, who joins Robinson on the lead single “Music That Will Lift Me.”

Robinson will sit in for the absent Mick Ralphs on Bad Company’s US summer tour with Joe Walsh, which starts May 12 in Dallas, TX.

Ralphs says he’s just not feeling up to the demands of tour travel at the moment, which opened the door for Robinson to perform with the legendary band.

“I'm excited to be joining Bad Company as their special guest on tour this summer,” explains Robinson. “One of my favorite bands growing up was Free. I've been a big fan of Paul Rodgers and his work throughout his career - from Bad Company and beyond - and Simon Kirke is one of my all time favorite drummers. To be able to play with Paul and Simon is such an honor. I'm really looking forward to it. See you out there!”

In January of 2015, Robinson announced the end of The Black Crowes after 24 years as a band.

Rich Robinson

Release date: June 24

01. The Upstairs Land
02. Shipwreck
03. Music That Will Lift Me
04. Everything's Alright
05. Eclipse The Night
06. Life
07. Ides Of Nowhere
08. Time To Leave
09. Astral
10. For To Give
11. Which Way Your Wind Blows
12. Surrender
13. Sleepwalker

See also:

Bad Company hires Black Crowes guitarist for US tour
Rock News Artist Of The Year No. 7: THE BLACK CROWES
The Black Crowes announce vinyl reissues
Black Crowes: 25th anniversary of debut album featured on In The Studio
Search The Black Crowes at hennemusic