Tuesday, March 7, 2017

Bad Company expand classic album reissue series

Bad Company are expanding their classic album reissue series with the May 26 release of 1976’s “Run With The Pack” and 1977’s “Burnin’ Sky.”

Following the 2015 series launch of their first two records – 1974’s self-titled debut and 1975’s “Straight Shooter” – the band are now set to deliver the next two albums in the catalogue as 2CD and 2LP sets.

Both projects will feature a remastered version of the original album as well as a second disc of bonus tracks presenting alternative versions of songs and previously unreleased tracks.

Bad Company’s third release, “Run With The Pack” was recorded in France using The Rolling Stones’ mobile truck in September 1975 with engineer Ron Nevison, and mixed in Los Angeles by Eddie Kramer. The package reached No. 5 on the US Billboard 200 with the help of three singles: the title track, a cover of The Coasters“Young Blood”, and “Honey Child.”

Album number four, “Burnin’ Sky” – which marked its 40th anniversary this week – was also recorded in France and delivered a pair of singles, including the title track and “Everything I Need.” The set peaked at No. 15 on the US Billboard 200.

Last month, Bad Company played the opening night show at The Vine at the new del Lago Resort & Casino in Waterloo, NY. The band appeared as a four-piece as guitarist Mick Ralphs continues to recover from a stroke he suffered at the end of the group’s UK tour last October.

“Mick is receiving excellent medical care and is recovering in hospital, although all his public engagements are necessarily on hold, pending his improvement,” said the group last fall. “Everyone is wishing Mick a speedy recovery, and further news will be announced at the appropriate time.”

Bad Company
“Run With The Pack” Deluxe Edition

Release date: May 26

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

01. "Live For The Music"
02. "Simple Man"
03. "Honey Child"
04. "Love Me Somebody"
05. "Run With The Pack"
06. "Silver, Blue & Gold"
07. "Young Blood"
08. "Do Right By Your Woman"
09. "Sweet Lil' Sister"
10. "Fade Away"

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks

01. "Live For The Music" - Take 1, Alternative Vocal & Guitar
02. "Simple Man" - Take 3, Early Mix
03. "Honey Child" - Early Mix, Alternative Guitar Solo
04. "Run With The Pack" - Extended Version, Alternative Vocal
05. "Let There Be Love" - Take 1, Previously Unreleased
06. "Silver, Blue & Gold" - Take 1, Early Mix
07. "Young Blood" - Alternative Vocal
08. "Do Right By Your Woman" - Alternative Vocal
09. "Sweet Lil' Sister" - Live Backing Track
10. "Fade Away" - Early Mix, Alternative Guitar Solo
11. "Do Right By Your Woman" - Acoustic Version*
12. "(I Know) I'm Losing You" - Studio Jam
13. "Young Blood" - Alternative Version 2
14. "Fade Away" - Island Studios Demo

* All disc two tracks unreleased except

Bad Company
"Burnin' Sky" Deluxe Edition

Release date: May 26

Disc One: Original Album Remastered

01. "Burnin' Sky"
02. "Morning Sun"
03. "Leaving You"
04. "Like Water"
05. "Knapsack (The Happy Wanderer)"
06. "Everything I Need"
07. "Heartbeat"
08. "Peace Of Mind"
09. "Passing Time"
10. "Too Bad"
11. "Man Needs Woman"
12. "Master Of Ceremony"

Disc Two: Bonus Tracks *

01. "Burnin' Sky" - Take 2, Alternative Vocal & Guitar
02. "Morning Sun" - Take 3, Early Version
03. "Leaving You" - Take 1, Alternative Vocal
04. "Like Water" - Take 1, Rough Mix
05. "Knapsack (The Happy Wanderer)" - Early Run Through
06. "Everything I Need" - Rough Mix
07. "Peace Of Mind" - Alternative Version
08. "Passing Time" - Alternative Vocal
09. "Too Bad" - Full Version
10. "Man Needs Woman" - Alternative Vocal & Guitar
11. "Too Bad" - Early Version, Mick Ralphs Vocal
12. "Man Needs Woman" - Take 2, Early Version, Mick Ralphs Vocal
13. "Burnin' Sky" - Take 1, Alternative Vocal
14. "Unfinished Story" - Previously Unreleased

* All tracks previously unreleased

See also:

VIDEO: Bad Company preview Soundstage premiere
Bad Company guitarist Mick Ralphs suffers stroke
Bad Company announce UK tour
Search Bad Company at hennemusic
Search Paul Rodgers at hennemusic