Tuesday, January 9, 2018

Joe Perry reveals all-star lineup for Los Angeles album release club show

Aerosmith guitarist Joe Perry has revealed the all-star lineup set to join him at the sold-out record release show for his new solo effort, “Sweetzerland Manifesto”, at The Roxy Theatre in Los Angeles on January 16.

Three days before the project’s release, Perry will perform with album collaborators Robin Zander of Cheap Trick, David Johansen of the New York Dolls and Terry Reid alongside Dean and Robert DeLeo of Stone Temple Pilots, Extreme’s Gary Cherone, keyboardist Buck Johnson and drummer David Goodstein.

Other special guests may appear at the event, billed as “Joe Perry And Friends”, that will see the rocker perform a mix of new music, Aerosmith tracks and covers.

“Sweetzerland Manifesto” was recorded at Studio 1480 in Los Angeles and produced by the guitarist and Bruce Witkin, with Johnny Depp serving as executive producer and additional help from longtime Aerosmith associate Jack Douglas, who co-wrote and co-produced a number of tracks.

The album is being previewed with the lead track “Aye, Aye, Aye”, featuring Cheap Trick vocalist Robin Zander.

"Being friends and fans of each other for 40 years, Robin and I had always talked about writing together," Perry tells Rolling Stone. "I was in L.A. working on my newest solo record and Robin was in town with Cheap Trick and called me with an idea for a song. He sang the chorus over the phone which was all he had at the time. I dug it and said, 'Hell yeah, come on up.'

“This song turned out to be one of two tracks on the album I hadn't written the music for before. Robin came up to Sweetzerland and six hours later 'Aye, Aye, Aye' was born. The song moved along as fast as a ride on a Japanese bullet train. In fact, we were able to track it live that night."

Joe Perry
“Sweetzerland Manifesto”

Release date: January 19

01. Rumble In The Jungle (instrumental)
02. I'll Do Happiness (ft. Terry Reid)
03. Aye, Aye, Aye (ft. Robin Zander)
04. I Wanna Roll (ft. David Johansen)
05. Sick & Tired (ft. Terry Reid)
06. Haberdasher Blues (ft. David Johansen)
07. Spanish Sushi (instrumental)
08. Eve Of Destruction (ft. Joe Perry)
09. I'm Going Crazy (ft. David Johansen)
10. Won't Let Me Go (ft. Terry Reid)

See also:

Joe Perry to launch new solo album with Los Angeles club show
AUDIO: Joe Perry streams new single with Cheap Trick singer Robin Zander
Aerosmith: Joe Perry to release first solo album in almost a decade
Steven Tyler updates health status following Aerosmith tour cancellation
Search Aerosmith at hennemusic