Friday, August 3, 2018

The Magpie Salute stream Sister Moon from album debut

The Magpie Salute are streaming the track, “Sister Moon”, as the latest preview to the August 10 release of their debut studio album, “High Water I.”

Formed in 2016, the outfit features leader and guitarist Rich Robinson alongside his former Black Crowes bandmates Marc Ford and Sven Pipien, and vocalist John Hogg, keyboardist Matt Slocum and drummer Joe Magistro.

“John and Marc wrote Sister Moon,” explains Robinson. “Marc had originally written it on acoustic, but John took the chords and played them on the piano. It’s one of my favorite songs on the record.”

"'Sister Moon' came from John and I staying in a house together," adds Ford. “We lived together 24 hours a day for ten days. We would just sit, poke at the fire, and tell stories. Many ideas came from that. That's how 'Sister Moon' started. It's so vibey and beautiful. John and I had never met before. The track is like us meeting."

“High Water I” was produced by Robinson and recorded at Dark Horse Studios in Nashville, TN.

“Sister Moon” marks the third tune previewed ahead of the project’s release, following “For The Wind” and the lead track, "Send Me An Omen.”

The Magpie Salute
“High Water I”

Release date: August 10

01. "Mary The Gypsy"
02. "High Water"
03. "Send Me An Omen"
04. "For The Wind"
05. "Sister Moon"
06. "Color Blind"
07. "Take It All"
08. "Walk On Water"
09. "Hand In Hand"
10. "You Found Me"
11. "Can You See"
12. "Open Up"

See also:

The Magpie Salute stream new single For The Wind
Black Crowes guitarist comments on chances of a reunion
The Black Crowes offshoot The Magpie Salute preview debut album
Former Black Crowes keyboardist Eddie Harsch dead at 59
Search The Black Crowes at hennemusic