Sunday, August 9, 2020

Megadeth bassist previews covers album with classic Judas Priest track

Megadeth bassist David Ellefson streaming a version of the Judas Priest classic, “Freewheel Burning”, as the latest preview to his forthcoming album, “No Cover.”

The opening track on the project sees the rocker joined by vocalists Thom Hazaert and Jason McMaster (Dangerous Toys), guitarists Gus G. (Firewind, Ozzy Osbourne), Andy James (Sacred Mother Tongue) and Andy Martongelli, and drummer Dave McClain (Sacred Reich, Machine Head).

“Freewheel Burning” was the lead single from Judas Priest’s 1984 record, “Defenders Of The Faith”, which peaked at No. 18 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to sales of more a million copies in the country.

Due October 2, “No Cover” features 17 classic tunes redone by Ellefson that were originally recorded by AC/DC, Queen, Sweet, Cheap Trick, Bachman-Turner Overdrive, Nazareth and more, including the set’s first preview, the band’s take on the vintage 1980 Def Leppard track, “Wasted.”

Ellefson is joined on the album by a number of guests, including those listed above alongside contributions from Charlie Benante (Anthrax), Eddie Ojeda (Twisted Sister), Dave Lombardo (ex-Slayer, Suicidal Tendencies), Brandon Yeagley (Crobot), Dirk Verbeuren (Megadeth), Troy Lucketta (Tesla), Mark Slaughter, Doro Pesch, Todd Kerns (Slash & The Conspirators) and more.

“No Cover”

Release date: October 2

01. Freewheel Burning (Judas Priest) ft. Jason McMaster, Gus G, Andy James, Dave McClain
02. Tear It Loose (Twisted Sister) ft. Eddie Ojeda, Dave McClain
03. Love Me Like A Reptile (Motorhead) ft. Doro Pesch, Greg Handevidt, Chuck Behler
04. Holiday in Cambodia (Dead Kennedys) ft. Charlie Benante
05. Rebel Yell (Billy Idol)
06. Wasted (Def Leppard) ft. Frank Hannon, Jacob Bunton, Dave McClain, Bumblefoot
07. Riff Raff (AC/DC) ft. Jason McMaster, Dave Lombardo
08. Nailed To The Gun (Fight) ft. Andrew Freeman, Russ Parrish, Jimmy DeGrasso
09. Not Fragile (Bachman-Turner Overdrive) ft. John Aquilino
10. Say What You Will (Fastway) ft. Troy Lucketta, Mark Slaughter
11. LOVE Machine (W.A.S.P.) ft. Dirk Verbeuren, Dave Alvin
12. Love Hurts (Nazareth) ft. Brandon Yeagley, Chuck Behler, Tyson Leslie
13. Sheer Heart Attack (Queen) ft. Bumblefoot, Doro Pesch, Charlie Benante
14. Sweet FA (Sweet) ft. Todd Kerns, Bumblefoot, Shani Kimelman
15. TBA
16. TBA
17. Auf Wiedersehen (Cheap Trick) ft. Al Jourgensen, Brandon Yeagley, Charlie Benante

Bonus Tracks
18. Eat The Rich (Krokus) ft. Dead By Wednesday

See also:

Megadeth bassist previews covers album with vintage Def Leppard track
Megadeth reschedule North American tour
Megadeth to headline virtual concert event
hennemusic LIVE: Megadeth stream 2017 Wacken Open Air performance
Search Megadeth at hennemusic
Search Judas Priest at hennemusic