Thursday, October 13, 2022

John Mellencamp streams unreleased Scarecrow track Carolina Shag

John Mellencamp is streaming a lyric video for “Carolina Shag”, a previously-unreleased track recorded during sessions for his 1985 album, “Scarecrow.”

The song is one of several bonus tracks included in the November 4 release of an expanded Deluxe reissue of the project, which originally reached No. 2 on the US Billboard 200 on its way to sales of more than 5 million copies in the region.

The “Scarecrow Deluxe” reissue will be issued as a box set including 2 CDs of newly-remixed and remastered songs plus previously unreleased alternate versions, a booklet full of rare photographs and all new liner notes by acclaimed author and music critic Anthony DeCurtis.

Mellencamp’s latest studio album is 2022’s “Strictly A One-Eyed Jack”, which features multiple songs co-written with and featuring Bruce Springsteen.

Pick up your copy of "Scarecrow Deluxe" now at Amazon here

John Mellencamp
“Scarecrow Deluxe”

Release date: November 4

01. Rain On The Scarecrow
02. Grandma’s Theme
03. Small Town
04. Minutes To Memories
05. Lonely Ol’ Night
06. The Face Of The Nation
07. Justice And Independence ‘85
08. Between A Laugh And A Tear
09. Rumbleseat
10. You’ve Got To Stand For Somethin’
11. R.O.C.K. IN THE U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock)
12. The Kind Of Fella I Am
13. Small Town (Acoustic Version)

CD2 01. Under The Boardwalk
02. Lonely Ol’ Night (Rough Mix)
03. Between A Laugh And A Tear (Writer’s Demo)
04. Carolina Shag
05. Cold Sweat
06. Rumbleseat (Writer’s Demo)
07. Smart Guys
08. R.O.C.K. In The U.S.A. (A Salute To 60’s Rock) (Rough Mix)
09. Minutes To Memories (Rough Mix)
10. Shama Lama Ding Dong
11. Small Town (Writer’s Demo)

See also:

John Mellencamp previews expanded Scarecrow reissue
John Mellencamp joined by Bruce Springsteen on new single Did You Say Such A Thing
John Mellencamp streams new album Strictly A One-Eyed Jack
John Mellencamp previews new album Strictly A One-Eyed Jack
Search John Mellencamp at hennemusic