Monday, June 4, 2012

AUDIO: Hear new ZZ Top

After nine years, ZZ Top finally issue new music on Tuesday as their “Texicali” EP is released.

Produced by Rick Rubin, the four-song set offers a preview of the group’s full-length album, as yet untitled, that will be released late this summer or early fall. Fans purchasing the four songs will benefit from a pro-rated discount on the purchase of the full album when it is released.

“Texicali” features “I Gotsta Get Paid,” “Chartreuse,” “Over You” and “Consumption.”

The first track issued was “I Gotsta Get Paid,” a tune based on the underground 1990s rap song “25 Lighters”; it’s also heard on the soundtrack to the international box office hit “Battleship.”

The Texas rockers are currently bringing some of the new music to fans as they headline the Gang Of Outlaws Tour, with special guests 3 Doors Down; the pair are being joined by Gretchen Wilson on select dates.

Hear some of the new tracks below; you can check out "Chartreuse" at Rolling Stone here.

ZZ Top ZZ Top

See also:

ZZ Top to release EP next week
VIDEO: ZZ Top debut new single in Jeremiah Weed ad
ZZ Top announce spring tour
VIDEO: ZZ Top guitarist provides update on new album
VIDEO: ZZ Top guitarist jams with Johnny Depp
VIDEO: Corey Taylor goes acoustic at ZZ Top fest
Billy Gibbons raves about ZZ Top tribute album
ZZ Top tribute album due in October
Hear new ZZ Top - Flyin’ High
ZZ Top: New album is ‘loud, fast’
ZZ Top debuts new song in space
ZZ Top: Billy Gibbons named Texas State Musician
ZZ Top: new album due in 2011
ZZ Top to receive Texas Medal Of Arts
ZZ Top, Extreme guitarists help launch new Pushking album
Steven Tyler to appear on new ZZ Top tribute album
ZZ Top to record with Rick Rubin