Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Sammy Hagar & Joe Satriani release NFL theme song

Sammy Hagar’s been writing stadium-size rock anthems for decades, so it’s no surprise he has teamed with the NFL to provide some musical inspiration for the new season.

Hagar and Chickenfoot partner Joe Satriani have recorded “Knockdown,” one of the new songs included on the Official Gameday Music Of The NFL three-track single.

Along with tracks from Darius Rucker and Hinder, Hagar’s “Knockdown” is an adrenaline-charged, fist-pumping rocker that will be used by the NFL throughout the season.

The track will likely remind fans of Hagar’s “Mas Tequila,” his attempt at rewriting Gary Glitter’s “Rock And Roll Part II,” a song that has filled sports venues for years.

Meanwhile, Hagar and Satriani are also featured on the new Chickenfoot disc, “Chickenfoot III,” set for release September 27.

Knockdown - Official Gameday Music of the NFL - Single Knockdown - Official Gameday Music of the NFL - Single

Sammy Hagar & Joe Satriani – Knockdown (2011)
Official Gameday Music Of The NFL single

See also:

Chickenfoot III podcast 3: Different Devil
Chickenfoot III podcast 2: Alright Alright
Chickenfoot launch video podcast series
Chickenfoot announce live webcast details
VIDEO: Chickenfoot – Big Foot
Chickenfoot: New album preview now available
Chickenfoot confirm Kenny Aronoff as drummer
Chickenfoot III deluxe edition details
VIDEO: Sammy Hagar joins Kid Rock in Detroit
Chickenfoot jamming with drummer Kenny Aronoff
Chickenfoot: Hear new single - Big Foot
Sammy Hagar to receive hometown Milley Award
Sammy Hagar says Chickenfoot III is best record he’s ever made
Chickenfoot: Hear sample of first single from Chickenfoot III
Chickenfoot: Hear first audio tease from new album
Chickenfoot sign North American deal with eOne Music
Chickenfoot: New album due in September
Sammy Hagar announces 2011 Cabo Birthday Bash
Michael Anthony: Chickenfoot vs. Van Halen
Sammy Hagar: Limited Edition Signature Explorer guitar available
Chickenfoot completes mixing new album